Welcome Note from HOD!

I count it a great privilege to welcome you to the Department of Physics, College of Science and Technology, Covenant University, Ota. We thank God for how He started with us and how far He has led us. Physics Department started as a servicing unit to other programmes in the college, until September, 2004 when it became a full fledge Department offering Industrial Physics, programme. The Department offers courses in the following specialties: i. Applied Geophysics ii. Electronics and Information Technology Applications iii. Renewable Energy These three options of Industrial Physics are all-time viable and very relevant to a nation like ours, still trailing the path of development and seeking opportunity for global impact. It is thus a worthwhile adventure for anyone who desires to specialize in any of these options. The aim of the Department is to produce graduates with capacity to understand this rich philosophical and all embracing Science discipline called Physics. The Department offers degree programs leading to the B.Sc, M.Sc and M.Phil/Ph.D. in Industrial Physics. The B.Sc degree is awarded with options in Applied Geophysics, Electronics and Information Technology Applications, and Renewable Energy respectively. The Department is adequately staffed with qualified and experienced faculty and staff to provide quality education to the students. Also, there are well-equipped laboratories with up to date facilities for students. There are also current and modern computer oriented courses that place our graduates at the same pedestal as their foreign counterparts to compete favorably in the current labour market and who also possess potentials to be a job creator.

Cross section of Physics students at her first departmental Town and Gown Seminar for 2017/2018 Academic Session.

Our students are exposed to rigorous academic discipline by a rare blend of committed and self-motivated faculty base who are at the cutting edge in teaching, research and community impact. The degree programmes are designed to produce graduates with sound basic knowledge of Physics, its diversified curriculum and its applications, especially in industries. .

Highlights in Department

The Department of Physics currently offers a 4-year Bachelor of Science (B.Sc) degree in Industrial Physics with options in Applied Geophysics, Electronics and Information Technology Applications and Renewable Energy. 'O' level admission requirement for our undergraduate programmes are: Mathematics, English Language, Physics,Chemistry and any other relevant science subject, Technology or Further Mathematics. The U.T.M.E. Subjects are English Language, Physics, Mathematics and any other relevant Science subject or Technology or Further Mathematics. The candidate must also fulfill all other Admission Requirements as prescribed by the Senate of Covenant University.